Several Safar Center faculty members were honored at this year’s National Neurotrauma Meeting, which was held in Snowbird, Utah. Safar Center Associate Director, Dr. Anthony Kline, accepted the appointment as the National Neurotrauma Society President for 2017 and 2018.

Safar Center Associate Director Dr. Anthony Kline is the current NNS president for the 2017-2018 term, and, remarkably, Safar Center Associate Director Dr. Amy Wagner is the President-Elect.

Trainees from Dr. Corina Bondi’s laboratory received competitive awards and fellowships to support their travel and participation. Ms. Ihuoma Njoku (3rd year University of Pittsburgh medical student) was awarded one of the two inaugural Diversity Fellowships, which generously covers the entire meeting participation, and Mr. Darik O’Neil received a Trainee Travel Award. Moreover, Dr. Bondi became the new Chair of the NNS Membership Committee, while still serving as the Secretary/Treasurer for Women in Neurotrauma (WiNTR). WiNTR is an organization within NNS that recently progressed to TEAM Neurotrauma, thus focusing on training, education & mentoring opportunities to all National Neurotrauma Society members, while continuing to emphasize equality for women in science and promote diversity among National Neurotrauma Society members. In total, Safar Center trainees and investigators gave over 27 scientific presentations at the meeting.