The Society for Neuroscience (SfN) annual meeting is the world’s largest neuroscience conference devoted to understanding the brain and nervous system. With over 30,000 attendees, at the yearly SfN conference, travel awards for trainees are highly competitive are awarded to only a few dozen of the most meritorious applicants.

We are pleased to report that four Safar Center trainees received travel awards to attend the 2017 conference in Washington, D.C. Dr. Patricia de la Tremblaye, a postdoctoral scholar and T32 scholar in Neurobiology working with Dr. Anthony Kline, as well as Melissa Nicholas and Darik O’Neil, students working with Dr. Corina Bondi, received 2017 Trainee Professional Development Awards from the Society of Neuroscience. Moreover, Peter Niesman, a student working with Dr. Anthony Kline, also received the 2017 Faculty for Undergraduate Neuroscience (FUN) travel award to attend the same meeting.

FUN is an international organization associated with SfN, that is focused on neuroscience education and research at the undergraduate level. FUN provides competitive travel awards to help top undergraduate neuroscientists present their original research at the annual SfN meeting.

Congratulations to all our trainees!